## Los Angeles County Department of Public Health Tobacco Control and Prevention Program

3530 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 800, Los Angeles, CA 90010 Telephone: (213) 351-7890, Email: <a href="mailto:tobacco1@ph.lacounty.gov/tob">tobacco1@ph.lacounty.gov/tob</a>

## IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR TOBACCO SHOPS

All Tobacco Shops operating in unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County must comply with all applicable county, state, and federal laws, including but not limited to the following:

- A valid Los Angeles County Tobacco Retail License must be prominently displayed in a publicly visible location on the premises - Los Angeles County Code (LACC) §11.35.030(A), LACC §11.35.070(C).
- 2. A valid LA County Tobacco Shop Business License must be prominently displayed in a publicly visible location on the premises LACC §7.04.070, LACC §7.83.030(A).
- 3. A valid State tobacco retailer's license must be conspicuously displayed in a publicly visible location on the premises California Business & Professions Code (B&P) §22972(a).
- 4. It is against the law to sell or offer for sale, or possess with the intent to sell or offer for sale, any flavored tobacco product or any component, part, or accessory intended to impart, or imparting a characterizing flavor in any form, to any tobacco product or nicotine delivery device, including electronic smoking devices LACC §11.35.070(E).
- Cigarettes are required to be sold in a sealed and properly labeled package of 20 units -California Penal Code (PC) §308.2.
- 6. Little cigars or cigarillos may not be sold individually or in packages of less than 20 units LACC §11.35.070(F).
- Self-service display of tobacco products is prohibited. There is a tobacco shop/smokers' lounge exemption for certain types of tobacco products (i.e., cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, chewing tobacco, or dipping tobacco), but no exemption for tobacco paraphernalia - B&P §22962(b)(1)(A), B&P §22962(c), LACC §11.35.070(G).
- **8.** Tobacco, tobacco products, and tobacco paraphernalia may not be used inside the premises LACC §7.83.060(A).
- 9. No one under the age of 21 is allowed in or on the premises LACC §7.83.040(C). There is no exemption for active duty military personnel ages 18 and older Federal Code of Regulations, Tobacco 21.
- 10. Consuming food or beverages, including alcohol, by patrons, or providing food or beverages, including alcohol, to patrons for consumption on the premises is prohibited **LACC §7.83.050(A)**.
- 11. Tobacco products may not be soldl, given, or in any way furnished to anyone under 21 years of age PC §308(a), LACC §11.35.070(A). There is no exemption for active duty military personnel ages 18 and older Federal Code of Regulations, Tobacco 21.
- **12.** A LA County Tobacco Retail License may be issued to authorize tobacco retailing at a fixed location only. Tobacco retailing on foot or from vehicles, carts, or any other nonfixed location, is prohibited LACC §11.35.070(H).
- 13. Anyone selling tobacco must be over the age of 21 LACC §11.35.070(J).
- 14. All areas of the entire exterior grounds of the premises, including the parking lot, require sufficient exterior lighting, so that all such areas are clearly visible during business hours LACC §7.83.040(E).
- **15.** Loitering in or around the business is prohibited, and you must ensure the absence of loitering LACC §7.83.080(A).

## Signage Requirements:

- 1. A warning sign stating that selling tobacco products to anyone under 21 years of age is illegal and subject to penalties must be posted conspicuously at each point of purchase.- **B&P §22952(b)**.
- 2. A recognizable and readable sign clearly identifying the business must be posted at the entrance of the premises LACC §7.83.040(A).
- 3. Exterior facing advertisements of tobacco products may not occupy an area larger than 14 sq. ft. LACC §7.83.040(B).
- 4. A sign stating, "No one under the age of 21 is allowed on these premises" must be posted at the entrance of the business LACC §7.83.040(C). There is no exemption for active duty military personnel ages 18 and older Federal Code of Regulations, Tobacco 21.
- 5. A permanent sign or signs must be posted in a place clearly visible to patrons of the business stating, "No consumption of food, beverages, or alcohol is allowed on these premises" LACC §7.83.050(B).
- 6. A permanent sign or signs must be posted at the building entrance and in a place clearly visible to patrons inside the premises stating, "No use of tobacco, tobacco products, or tobacco paraphernalia is allowed on these premises" LACC §7.83.060(B).
- 7. A permanent sign or signs must be posted at the entrance to the building or structure and in a place clearly visible to patrons on the exterior areas stating, "No loitering is allowed" LACC §7.83.080(B).